November Wrap-Up

I love November – but I’m a little biased since it’s my birthday month. I may have been a little purchase-happy this month especially with all the promotions and deals that came out. I think I will refrain from buying any more books for the rest of the year. (Aside from one that I already set my mind to buy for awhile to complete my collection.)

BOOKS READ

Untitled

It seemed like a slow reading month but to be fair, I’m actually still reading through Harry Potter again so my pace with the new books is now super slow. Which is strange since I’m adding to my reading load by borrowing even more books from the library these days. It’s my attempt to read books before buying them for my personal library.

Favourite Book Read This Month:

  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Other Books Read This Month:

  • Leave Me by Gayle Forman
  • Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
  • The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
  • The Art of Pixar by Amid Amidi
  • 99 Days by Katie Cotugno
  • Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls by Lynn Wingarten
  • Audrey: The 50s by David Wills
  • Audrey: The 60s by David Wills

Book Re-Read This Month:

  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
  • The Luxe by Anna Godbersen

NEW BLOG POSTS

It’s been a pretty steady release of book reviews this month. A couple were carried over from October and a few new books were from this month’s reading. Links to these reviews are below in case you missed them. Also, just in case you’ve been wondering why I don’t give ratings, it’s because I don’t want it to interfere with the review itself. Sometimes I find that ratings are too quick of a judgment but doesn’t reflect how I actually feel about the book itself.

  • Review: Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee [x]
  • Review: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson [x]
  • Review: Wonder by R.J. Palacio [x]
  • Review: Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter [x]
  • Review: The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho [x]
  • Review: Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton [x]
  • Review: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon [x]
  • Review: Illustrated Editions of Harry Potter #1 and #2 [x]

BOOK HAUL

Untitled

26 new books made it to my shelves this month. Which seems like a lot of books — but I did get 10 of these by redeeming $100 worth of plum points for them. So really… I only bought 16 of them… But I suppose the total amount of new books is still 26. It was a wonderful month for my book hauling tendencies.

  • The Art of Pixar by Amid Amidi
  • Emma by Jane Austen (Penguin Threads edition)
  • Wuthering Height by Emily Bronte (Penguin’s Mr. Boddington edition)
  • A Little Wanting Song by Cath Crowley
  • I Was Here by Gayle Forman
  • Inkheart by Cornelia Funke
  • Looking for Alaska by John Green
  • Stolen Songbird by Danielle L. Jensen
  • Hidden Huntress by Danielle L. Jensen
  • Warrior Witch by Danielle L. Jensen
  • The Little Book of Audrey Hepburn by Caroline Jones
  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
  • Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
  • The Art of the Disney Princess by Glen Keane
  • Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick
  • The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid
  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer (regular edition)
  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer (OwlCrate November book – special edition)
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell
  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay by J.K. Rowling
  • Something, Maybe by Elizabeth Scott
  • Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare
  • Night by Elie Wiesel
  • Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin

BIRTHDAY HAUL

Untitled

It is not very surprising that my friends get me gift cards to Chapters for my birthday now – three this year. But occasionally some of them will try to test their knowledge of me. This year, I got two books and six new Funkos. The Big Book of Peanuts: All the Daily Strips from the 1950s is pretty cool, although I also have my Complete Peanuts collection. Another of my friends got me lober is the best medicine by Liz Climo, which is this cute little book of illustrations and comics about friendship. Plus she gave me a two-month subscription to Netflix so I can watch Gilmore Girls. True friendship right there. I got two of my Funkos – Sailor Mars and Sailor Venus from my sister and her boyfriend. And four new Harry Potter Funkos from two of my friends. Absolutely perfect.

BOOKISH HAUL

Untitled

I’ve been waiting for so many years for all the Hunger Games movies to be released and then for the box set of all the movies to be out. I don’t exactly check up on this sort of thing so I was pleasantly surprised when I found it at Costco earlier this month. I love the Blu-Ray/DVD plus digital copy editions. Of course, the digital copy would be even more rewarding if I actually had an iPad or something to bring my movies out with me to watch and all.

#BOOKSTAGRAM

I absolutely love the Bookstagram community. I don’t have many friends who love to read as much as I do but in this forum, I can meet and interact with others who love reading. If you’re not following me yet, just find me at @kindredbooks — the link of which is in the sidebar. My top 6 most popular posts from this month:

UntitledUntitled
UntitledUntitled
UntitledUntitled

3 thoughts on “November Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

