Review: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Title: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour
Author: Morgan Matson
Publisher: Simon & Schuster BFYR, 2011
Edition: Trade Paperback, 344 pages

Untitled

Synopsis:

It wouldn’t be a road trip without some detours…

Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

Untitled

Review:

I don’t know why it’s taken me this long to discover Morgan Matson but better late than never, right? This is my second Matson – the first was Since You’ve Been Gone (review here), which I really enjoyed and the reason why I want to get to all of her novels now. Although they are a bit predictable – girl and boy start off as acquaintances/friends and they go through challenges and events together – you see where this is going, right? But the chemistry, the ways in which boy and girl fall in love, and the characters’ depth all depend on the author and Matson does an amazing job putting together these stories.

I really liked Amy – she had a lot to her and her growth as a character was rewarding to watch. From personal tragedy, we see as she makes her way towards forgiving herself and allowing herself to grieve and let go. As for Roger, I liked him – he seemed patient, funny, and kind – but also a little needy. Given the way he was with his ex-girlfriend – I felt like it might be a warning sign. Though we are led to see that this said girl was a bit of a … player(?), it’s surprising to see Roger ever falling for that sort of girl to begin with. But at least he learns from it and see through her. Of course, bonding with Amy probably helped with that transition.

Untitled

Anyways, another Morgan Matson novel down. I enjoyed it – but not quite as much as Since You’ve Been Gone. I absolutely loved that the novel followed a road trip – something I’ve always wanted to done within Canada. And it’s definitely put me in that traveling mind zone – where shall I go next?

But for now, my thoughts should probably be: What Morgan Matson novel shall I read next?

2 thoughts on “Review: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

  1. Kathy @ Bookish Shelves says:

    I purchased this novel a couple months back over summer but I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. Coincidentally, the first novel I ever read by Morgan Matson was “Since You’ve Been Gone” as well! Hopefully I will get the chance to read this book soon! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

