book haul · monthly wrap-up

October Wrap-Up

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

My wrap-up is here again. October is such a pretty month in Canada and I loved picking up books that went with my autumnal moods. October was also a month full of stress and personal conflict for me but I survived and here we are now. Let’s get on with it!

BOOKS READ

UntitledTwelve books were read this month. Not too shabby. Some amazing books really. Next month might be a slower reading month because I’m actually reading the Harry Potter series again so I’m taking a break from my new reads. If possible. There are a few books coming out that I’m dying to get a hold of so we shall see.

Favourite Books Read This Month:

  • Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo: SOOOO good. I absolutely loved this duology and want more of the Grisha world!
  • The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen: So good! This second book in the series is amazing and I want to get to the third book which is out in November!
  • Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Volume 24 by Karuho Shiina: After a few volumes of very little plot development, this volume finally picks things up a bit.
  • Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur: so many of the poems are just so deep in such a simplistic way. It connected with me and I felt completely inspired by it.
  • Wonder by R.J. Palacio: What an amazing story, told from multiple perspectives, with an amazing precept. Choose kind.

Other Books Read This Month:

  • What Light by Jay Asher: Cute, light, and festive YA novel that I would recommend as Christmas approaches.
  • Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson: Fun, adventurous, and pleasant novel; I’m becoming more and more of a fan of Morgan Matson.
  • Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee: November book club selection/ it was quite interesting to meet Scout and Atticus again after To Kill a Mockingbird and I think the book club discussion for it would be quite riveting.
  • Cymbeline by William Shakespeare: the last of my tragedies! I enjoyed this one – though it lost me for an act or two. And now I’m off to complete my comedies.
  • Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter: I got this book from OwlCrate and while it was good, I also felt mostly confused most of my reading.
  • Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Volume 25 by Karuho Shiina: And soon after things picked up, they’re slow again. I’m not sure why I keep buying these volumes – but it seems strange to stop now when I’ve invested into the manga this long.
  • The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho: I enjoyed it but to be honest, I’m not sure why it’s so highly raved about.

NEW BLOG POSTS

  • Review: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, Penguin Drop Caps Edition [x]
  • Review: What Light by Jay Asher [x]
  • Review: Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake [x]
  • Review: I’ll Be Right There by Kyung-Sook Shin [x]
  • Review: milk and honey by Rupi Kaur [x]
  • Review: The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson [x]
  • Review: Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo [x]

BOOK HAUL

Untitled

Eighteen new books made it to my shelves this month.

  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  • Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
  • Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie (Puffin Children’s Classics edition)
  • The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
  • The Van Alen Legacy by Melissa De La Cruz
  • Splendor by Anna Godbersen
  • The Walled City by Ryan Graudin
  • The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen
  • Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur
  • The Ice Cream Girls by Dorothy Koomson
  • Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson
  • Wonder by R.J. Palacio
  • Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling (Jim Kay’s Illustrated edition)
  • Black Beauty by Anna Sewell (Penguin Threads edition)
  • Cymbeline by William Shakespeare
  • Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Volume 24 by Karuho Shiina
  • Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Volume 25 by Karuho Shiina

BOOKISH HAUL

Untitled
How cute are these reading socks from Chapters Indigo? I honestly didn’t even realize that they were meant for kids until I got home. Which is fine because I can fit kids’ shoes anyways so these are perfect! They’re so comfy, cozy, and warm – perfect for reading in the autumn and winter season. I also got the cutest mugs which I’m excited to use for my teas and hot chocolates as the weather gets colder.

 

 

#BOOKSTAGRAM

Untitled
I hosted another giveaway this month on my Instagram account! This time, two lucky winners each won a copy of Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. This beautiful Puffin edition has been on sale at Chapters Indigo and I wanted to share it with my followers. Anything to make more kindred spirits and fans of Anne.

WHAT’S NEXT?

Untitled
I’m reading the Harry Potter series again after so many years. Absolutely loving it – and I’ve started with the illustrated editions. The reading experience actually feels different yet nostalgic at the same time. November is also my birthday month so I’m quite excited about that and looking forward to what my birthday haul might be like. And of course, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is coming out!

One thought on “October Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

