book review · book series

Review: Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Title: Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Publisher: Henry Holt, 2016
Edition: Hardcover Box Set

Untitled

Synopsis:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price – and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction – if they don’t kill each other first.

Untitled

Review:

I honestly feel guilty about not giving Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom each its own review. In my mind, it totally makes sense to review the first of any series – in this case, Six of Crows. But I’ve always felt uncomfortable reviewing the sequels of any series – it feels like the strangest thing to do because it’s hard to avoid any spoilers for readers who have never even read the first book. Which is how I find myself here – writing yet another book series review. Of course, this is a duology, as opposed to an entire series (I’m thinking at least three books and up). Still, this duology. was. amazing. Let me rephrase that. THIS. DUOLOGY. WAS. AMAZING. I want to make it absolutely clear how I feel about this book. And from what I can tell on Goodreads and Instagram, I am definitely not alone in these feelings.

So without giving any spoilers – hah! I’ll try – let us continue.

Untitled

To begin, although you can definitely read this duology on its own – I highly recommend reading The Grisha Trilogy first. You get to know this world better and understand the Grisha and the world politics. Which does help set up the duology, which is set after The Grisha Trilogy. You’ll get familiar with the different Grisha powers, Alina, the civil way, etc. (And if I continue and you haven’t read the trilogy yet, I may end up spoiling it for you.) Somehow, Leigh Bardugo keeps outdoing herself with these stories about this world. While I highly enjoyed The Grisha Trilogy, I was absolutely in love with Six of Crows.

Untitled

The characters – well, if I ever had to put a team of thieves and spies, this will be the ultimate team. I love the variety of characters – they’re all so charming, funny, and captivating in their own ways. Kaz Brekker is my favourite – closely followed by Inej. I love Kaz’s toughness and brutality. I love Inej’s character – I’d love to be her if I were to choose any of the characters. And the two together? Too many feels.

Untitled

The adventures and misadventures they get to had me reading the entire time in anticipation. I was completely torn apart by the way Six of Crows ended. It was in such a way that I could not believe and I was going out of my mind as I had to wait for the sequel. Which is why I – Miss-Paperback-cause-its-cheaper-and-takes-up-less-space-on-bookshelves – ended up pre-ordering the hardcover box set of the duology. That’s right. This only happens on rare and special occasions. And even though I hadn’t read Crooked Kingdom yet, I knew – without a doubt – that it would be mind shattering, breathtaking, glorious, and absolutely perfect.

Sorry, did I just make your expectation go too high? Well, that’s just too bad. And honestly, I was a little worried that I was setting myself up to be disappointed. Especially as everyone else was receiving and finishing their copies while I had trouble with my order (some warehouse ran out of it and they didn’t even consider fixing the problem until I contacted Chapters Indigo myself). So as I read about everyone gushing about the book, I became nervous. But I didn’t have to do. Leigh Bardugo is completely on point with this duology and the way it ended. GO. READ. IT.

Leave a Reply

