Review: milk and honey by Rupi Kaur

Title: milk and honey
Author: Rupi Kaur
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing, 2015
Edition: Trade Paperback, 204 pages

Untitled

From the back cover:

this is the journey of
surviving through poetry
this is the blood sweat tears
of twenty-one years
this is my heart
in your hands
this is
the hurting
the loving
the breaking
the healing

– rupi kaur

Untitled

Review:

I’ve kept an eye on this book since its release but I was never sure if it was a book of poetry that I wanted to read. But I decided to take the plunge when I noticed that it was chosen as October’s Indigo Book Club pick. The book will be discussed this week on Twitter via the hashtag #IndigoBookClub on Wednesday, October 26th. I just realized (literally just checked) that I would be in a class then but I’m sure I can follow along if I bring my laptop and “take notes.” Anyways, let me know if you’ve read it and will be joining that discussion as well!

I really enjoyed this book of poetry. It was divided into four parts – the hurting, the loving, the breaking, and the healing. Each theme dealing with sensitive issues of sexuality, love, family, and kindness. Most of the poems are simple, short, and bittersweet. In its simplicity, it conveyed such feelings and emotions. I loved the style of the poetry and felt a little appalled by a Goodreads review that devalued the poems because of it. Something along the lines of how a sentence broken up into different lines can’t be considered poetry. I hadn’t realized that there was one type or one style of poem. And perhaps you feel the same way and if you do, then this isn’t for you. If you want to read longer, more stylized poems – “real” poems – that’s fine – go pick up some Shakespeare or whoever else is deemed a “proper” poet.

For me, Rupi Kaur is a brilliant contemporary and young poet. Who is able to do what other poets do – convey and evoke emotions through the way they put together and aesthesize words and phrases. She completely does that – in as little as three lines, ten words.

more than anything
i want to save you
from myself
– rupi kaur

It’s not for everyone. This style of poetry. I can admit that. And if you’re not sure if this is, you can always just follow Rupi Kaur on Instagram [x] or her blog [x] where she posts her work to get a feel for it. Some of her writing may make you feel uncomfortable with the subject – but that uncomfortable feeling is because it’s real. Perhaps too read at times.

Leave a Reply

