book review

Review: Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Title: Three Dark Crowns
Author: Kendare Blake
Publisher: Harper Teen, 2016
Edition: Hardcover, 398 pages

Untitled

Synopsis:

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born – three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose… it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.

Untitled

Review:

I received this book from the September box of OwlCrate. It also came with a signed bookplate and fortune teller.

There are multiple reasons why I loved the book but also didn’t like it. To begin, I love the concept and plot for this series. Having three queens – sisters and each with their own powers – being brought up to turn against each other. I loved being able to go between the three sisters and their perspectives. I found myself changing sides, rooting for one queen and then another throughout the novel. In this way, as readers, we really have no idea how this will continue and who we are ultimately going to see win this game for the crown.

The main problem I had with the book was how slow everything is progressing. I understand that by switching between three different points of views, it will take longer for the story to progress but I guess I’m getting impatient. There was so much set up for the characters, their challenges, their training – and we don’t get much interaction and actually activity happening. I’m going to assume that once the girls start having to face one another more, the story will pick up its pace. There’s already so many misunderstandings and trouble brewing between the sisters by the end of this novel that it’s bound to be quite epic.

So, basically, I would have to say that the first book does a good job in setting up for this series. Reading it as its own right as a novel wasn’t amazing – but I get the feeling that it’s only going to get better.

I absolutely loved the idea that two of the queens aren’t quite as gifted in their powers and that twist at the end? Completely amazing and has me hooked and anticipating for the sequel. Definitely pick this book up! I foresee it becoming an amazing series!

Leave a Reply

