September Wrap-Up

My wrap-up is a few days late this time! September was a pretty good month for all things bookish in my life. But given circumstances and certain things going on in my personal and professional life, I find myself very late on my blog posts and book reviews. I’m going to try to catch up on all of that in the next month.

BOOKS READ

Fifteen books were read this month – not including a selection of other books that I decided to re-read. I had trouble reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children at night (too creepy) and needed light reading before bed. Here are my books read this month, starting with…

Favourite Books Read This Month:

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake: What an amazing start to a new series. I absolutely loved the three different sisters and I’m still torn about who I’m rooting for.

The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson: A great book about a North Korean spy/kidnapper. It gives great insight into North Korea – or as much insight as possible for those of us living outside of the communist country.

The Art of Tangled by Jeff Kurtti: Tangled is my favourite Disney revival movie and it’s amazing how it was all put together.

The Art of Wreck-It Ralph by Jennifer Lee: Absolutely love the art and designs in this book. It’s amazing how much work goes into an animation movie.

P.S. I Like You by Kasie West: Cute, light, and lots of fun – like usual with Kasie West.

Untitled

Other Books Read This Month:

The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray: The last book in the Gemma Doyle trilogy; wrapped up the series nicely but I’m not 100% happy with the ending.

Where We Belong by Emily Giffin: Heartfelt and enjoyable read.

Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella: Funny – with actual laugh-out-loud moments.

The Paris Wife by Paula McLain: A story told from the perspective of Ernest Hemingway’s first wife, Hadley. It was a beautiful story but perhaps it would have resonated more if I was more interested in Hemingway.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs: Creepy, funny, and strange. I read this just in case I decide to also watch the film adaptation that just came out.

Antony and Cleopatra by William Shakespeare: Another Shakespearean tragedy down. I actually enjoyed this one – it was full of complicated characters with a simple storyline.

Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You Volume 23 by Karuho Shiina: This installation of the manga focuses more on Yano and her relationship with Kento.

I’ll Be Right There by Kyung-Sook Shin: Another great book by the author of Please Look After Mom.

The Man Who Loved China by Simon Winchester: A cross between Chinese history and development and a biography about a British scientist who put it all together.

Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink: Interesting concept and plot but I’m not quite sure it’s a series that I’ll be completing.

NEW BLOG POSTS

  • OwlCrate: August Unboxing – Fast Times at YA High [x]
  • Review: One Kick by Chelsea Cain [x]
  • Bookish Events: Book Ends Half Price Sale at the North York Central Public Library [x]
  • Review: A School for Unusual Girls by Kathleen Baldwin [x]
  • Review: P.S. I Like You by Kasie West [x]
  • Review: The Man Who Loved China by Simon Winchester [x]
  • Series Review: Gemma Doyle Trilogy by Libba Bray [x]
  • Review: Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella [x]

BOOK HAUL

Twenty-eight books have made it to my shelves this month. I managed to snag five of these for such a bargain at a massive sale hosted by the city’s public library.

Untitled

  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (my first Penguin Drop Caps edition!)
  • The Wizard of Oz by Frank L. Baum (Puffin Chalk edition)
  • The Wizard of Oz by Frank L. Baum (Puffin Children’s Classics edition)
  • Three Dark Crowns by Kandare Blake (OwlCrate September box)
  • The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray
  • One Kick by Chelsea Cain
  • A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens (Puffin Chalk edition)
  • Inkspell by Cornelia Funke
  • The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame (Puffin Children’s Classics edition)
  • The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson
  • The Art of Tangled by Jeff Kurtti
  • The Art of Wreck-It Ralph by Jennifer Lee and Maggie Malone
  • We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
  • The Call of the Wild by Jack London (Puffin Children’s Classics edition)
  • Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
  • The Alchemist’s Daughter by Katharine McMahon (redeemed on BookMooch)
  • Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery (Sourcebooks edition)
  • The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson
  • The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
  • Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler
  • The Secret of the Nightingale Palace by Dana Sachs
  • The Almost Moon by Alice Sebold
  • Black Beauty by Anna Sewell (Puffin Chalk edition)
  • Antony and Cleopatra by William Shakespeare
  • Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You Volume 23 by Karuho Shiina
  • I’ll Be Right There by Kyung-sook Shin
  • The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain (Puffin Children’s Classics edition)
  • Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

UntitledBOOKISH HAUL

Funkos! At the start of this month, I went to FanExpo in Toronto with a specific goal in mind – finding cheap Funko Pops. And I was super pleased to see that EB Games had a selection of Funkos that were on sale for 2 for $20. Which explains why I came away with six new Funkos – Luna Lovegood, Sirius Black, Draco Malfoy, the Dementor, Sailor Moon with Luna, and Tuxedo Mask. I’m hoping to finish these two sets before I even consider other ones.

Untitled

I attended the Word on the Street festival in Toronto on Sunday, September 25th. It was so much fun and I managed to find some great books to add to my collection. Also, I got some really cute buttons, first looks at new books, and new bookmarks!

#BOOKSTAGRAM

Untitled

I hosted my first giveaway on Instagram this month! I offered up the cute canvas pouch I got from the OwlCrate September box as the prize. The lucky winner was: @booksaremysolace! Congratulations!

I’ll be hosting more giveaways once things in my life settle down a bit. Be sure to keep an eye out on my blog and Instagram for them!

Leave a Reply

