book review

Review: One Kick by Chelsea Cain

One Kick
Chelsea Cain
Simon & Schuster: 2014
Hardcover, 306 pages

Untitled

Synopsis:

Kick Lannigan, 21, is a survivor. Abducted at age six in broad daylight, the police, the public, perhaps even her family assumed the worst had occurred. And then Kathleen Lannigan was found, alive, six years later. In the early months following her freedom, as Kick struggled with PTSD, her parents put her through a litany of therapies, but nothing helped until the detective who rescued her suggested Kick learn to fight. Before she was thirteen, Kick learned marksmanship, martial arts, boxing, archery, and knife throwing. She excelled at every one, vowing she would never be victimized again. But when two children in the Portland area go missing in the same month, Kick goes into a tailspin. Then an enigmatic man Bishop approaches her with a proposition: he is convinced Kick’s experiences and expertise can be used to help rescue the abductees. Little does Kick know the case will lead directly into her terrifying past…

Untitled

Review:

I love thrillers like these. Quick-paced, not too thrilling (approaching horror), with a female character who is strong, stubborn, and intelligent. Kick Lannigan was such a fascinating character with such an intriguing backstory. I loved that she was once an abducted-then-found child who grew up but has now trained herself to be prepared and ready to defend herself. She starts investigating recent child abductions and as they lead her to questions of her own past, we see that as strong as she leads us to believe she is, she’s still vulnerable. And as a reader, I felt more drawn to her because of it. Then there are all the relationships and connections between Kick and the other characters. One of which really surprised me and really stood out – which I don’t want to spoil. But basically another victim from the past is still connected to her in the present.

I really enjoyed my reading of this book – which I found randomly on my trip to the public library. Enjoyed it so much that when I saw it at Chapters Indigo for $3, I knew that I had to own a copy of it – and it’s such a steal! I’m looking forward to seeing where the story goes as the end of One Kick was clearly set up for a sequel. I’m still trying to figure out what the sequel will be as there is no information on GoodReads but then I see a sequel called Kick Back which may or may not have been released recently.

Untitled

2 thoughts on “Review: One Kick by Chelsea Cain

Leave a Reply

