OwlCrate: August Unboxing – Fast Times at YA High

Untitled

Ever since my first venture into bookstagram, I’ve been lusting after the monthly subscription boxes that all the cool kids were getting. And so – even though I don’t know how I’ve budgeted it into my life – I decided to get in on the action. My first box came in August – and I took advantage of the first subscription box offer for 15% off the first order in order to try it out and see if it was something that I wanted to invest in. The boxes are $30USD plus shipping, which for me was to Canada and was an additional $10USD.

Untitled

I was a little disappointed before my box came because spoilers of the unboxing were starting to be released on Instagram and I had no warning at all. So before my own box came, I already knew what was going to be in it. I have to admit – it sort of ruined the anticipation and excitement that comes with getting the subscription box because nothing was a surprise anymore. Even so, I couldn’t help doing a little dance of joy when my box did arrive so clearly I wasn’t completely ruined.

Untitled

The theme for August was Fast Times at YA High. It came with this little card and letter from the wonderful people at OwlCrate that explains the theme and also tells you where each of the items in the items came from and why they were chosen to go along with the theme.

Untitled

This little notebook is so cute. I love the simple design and after showing it to my mom, she laid claim to it. So I obligingly gifted it to her. I love the size of it and it’s perfect to keep on you to keep notes.

Untitled

The box came with this cute necklace that’s from Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. It’s a YA novel that I love and so I love this necklace. But I’m not really one to wear necklaces so I’m not sure that I’d get much usage out of it.

Two buttons were also included. My favourite is the “Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home” designed by Taryn Draws. It’s perfect to go with all my other Hogwarts items. The other cute button with the dinosaur “Chapter Raptor” is a collectible button from OwlCrate.

Untitled

Next was this adult coloring book from Blue Star Coloring. I’ve always been curious about the latest coloring hype and can now see if it really does help relieve my stress. Might even be a good bedtime activity since I suffer from insomnia.

Isn’t that Rainbow Rowell print so cute?

Untitled

And without a doubt, my favourite item from this month’s box was the Harry Potter print of the Golden Trio from Susanne Draws. I’ve loved her work for so long and love that this was part of the box. I want to frame it eventually.

Untitled

And of course, with each OwlCrate there is a book involved, a letter from the author and a signed template. This month included P.S. I Like You by Kasie West. I thought that it was such a perfect pick for this month – light, fluffy, and such an enjoyable high school summer read.

Untitled

So that was my unboxing – and I have to say that I was quite pleased with my box. And even more intrigued by next month’s theme which is Darkness.

In considering the cost and the value of everything you receive in the box, I think that it’s a fun way to read. Hardcover books tend to be about $20 and the other items are fun to collect and use.

With that in mind, I decided to subscribe to OwlCrate with a six-month subscription. For those of you interested, you can also find discount codes on Instagram from OwlCrate reps.

Leave a Reply

