August Wrap-Up

It’s time for this month’s wrap-up. This August saw a lot more reading and book purchases compared to previous years. This is most likely because I had no travel plans this summer – this is very out of character for me. Nevertheless, I enjoyed my time at home with my new reads and I’m excited for the start of the new school (working) year.

BOOKS READ

Sixteen books were read this month. Not too bad considering that I’ve been binge-watching shows like Sex and the City and my Korean variety shows and dramas. I read SO many great books this month. I tend to review books that I loved and liked a lot – there will be the rare cases where I review books that I did not enjoy. This is partly because I won’t have strong enough feelings to properly review it. Also, if you’ve noticed, I stopped rating the books on my reviews here. I feel like the ratings don’t properly express how I feel about the books and that’s why you need to read my full review instead of basing it off a rating. However, if you are curious as to what rating I gave them, I do rate them on Goodreads. You can find the link to my Goodreads page in the right sidebar.

Untitled

Favourite Books Read This Month:

Swear On This Life by Renée Carlino: it’s actually kind of rare for me to pick up a new book soon after its publication but I couldn’t help myself because I absolutely loved Before We Were Strangers, which I read last month. Absolutely loved this novel and it’s cemented me as a fan of Renée Carlino.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli: I absolutely loved it! It wasn’t a book that came under my radar until I kept seeing it highly recommended by one of my favourite bookstagrammers @twirlingpages. And I can understand why she – and so many others – love it. It was funny, heartfelt, and I completely fell in love with it.

The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto by Mitch Albom (ebook): I really enjoyed this book – full of love, heartbreak, and music.

A School for Unusual Girls by Kathleen Baldwin: I loved the premise of the book – girls who are exceptional and don’t quite fit in to the English society being trained as spies with their special talents.

One Kick by Chelsea Cain: A thriller that had me reading it almost in one sitting – which is not a great idea when you start at 11pm.

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson: I heard so many good things about Morgan Matson and decided to take a chance with this novel – and I’m glad I did. Trying to decide which of her books to pick up next.

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng: A beautiful and haunting novel about family, grief, gender, race, and broken dreams.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher: I had forgotten that I read this before but reading it again felt like the first time – and I thought it was such a beautiful and sad novel.

Other Books Read This Month:

Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason by Helen Fielding: Since I got this book five years ago, I’ve tried three times to get through it. And I finally did. It picked up three quarters of the way there.

Baby Proof by Emily Giffin: Not one of her bests to say the least.

The Adventures of Robin Hood by Richard Lancelyn Green: I didn’t expect to enjoy this book as much as I did. But Robin Hood’s adventures were a lot of fun to read and I can understand why it’s such a beloved classic.

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella: Not my favourite of her novels; I was a little irritated by the character of Linus, which is not something you want for the romantic interest of the protagonist of the novel.

The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison: To be fair, I felt like I didn’t understand parts of it. But in general, this was an interesting story about a young girl who wants blue eyes and her tragic life.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling: It’s been such fun being back in the magical world.

Julius Caesar by William Shakespeare: Not a huge fan of Shakespeare’s histories but this one wasn’t too bad. It also helps to have Sparknotes.

The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West: Cute and light reading for the summer.

NEW BLOG POSTS

  • The Book Club on Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling[x]
  • Review: The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson [x]
  • Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling [x]
  • Review: William Shakespeare’s Plays – Histories [x]
  • Review: One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid [x]
  • Review: Before We Were Strangers by Renée Carlino [x]
  • Review: The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto by Mitch Albom [x]
  • Review: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson [x]
  • Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli [x]
  • Review: Swear On This Life by Renée Carlino [x]
  • Review: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher [x]
  • Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella [x]
  • Review: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West [x]
  • Review: Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng [x]

BOOK HAUL

Twenty-one books made it to my bookshelves this month. I never head into the month thinking that I’m going to spend a lot on books. In fact, I make an extra effort not to – but sometimes things just happen and I end up getting more books than I mean to. It’s just been particularly harder since it’s summer and when it gets too hot to go outside, it’s nice to browse in bookstores. In my defense, a lot some of my books were found at thrift shops and at the bargain shelves at Chapters Indigo. Then of course, there’s my books from OwlCrate and BookMooch.

Untitled

Simon VS. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Swear On This Life by Renée Carlino

Baby Proof by Emily Giffin

Where We Belong by Emily Giffin

The Adventures of Robin Hood by Roger Lancelyn Green

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella (from BookMooch)

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Night Star (The Immortals #5) by Alyson Noel

Change of Heart by Jodi Picoult

Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany

Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, volume 22 by Karuho Shiina

Julius Caesar by William Shakespeare

The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

P.S. I Like You by Kasie West (OwlCrate August box)

BOOKISH HAUL

UntitledUntitled

“When in Doubt, Go to the Library” tote bag from Alohomora Design. I won this from an Instagram giveaway hosted by Karmen (@readingoncloud9) and Alohomora Design (@alohomoradesign). Check out the tote bags on their Etsy site – perfect bookish present for yourself or someone you know.

I picked up the most awesome print from Chapters Indigo. It’s a quote from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen where Elizabeth Bennett is rejecting Darcy and the not-so-subliminal message is highlighted. Absolutely love it.

I also started subscribing to OwlCrate  – which I’ll be doing a proper unboxing post next. Stay tuned for that!

Untitled

#BOOKSTAGRAM

Since starting my #bookstagram account in July, my followers have now increased to just a little over 180! Thank you so much for your support and please continue to read my reviews here.

 

 

BOOKMOOCH & LITTLE FREE LIBRARY

I’ve had two boxes of books in my basement that I’ve been meaning to donate or give away. I heard about BookMooch [x] and I thought that it would be a good idea since I can try to get books out of it at the same time. I’ve accepted two requests and I’m really concerned about the shipping costs. I think that it may be just more cost-efficient to buy the books I want rather than paying these shipping costs. With my points I have started to redeem books; choosing books in my own country so that I can try to get more books. The first of which have started to arrive:

  • Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella

Which brought me to Little Free Library. I’m keeping a bag of books in the trunk of my car now so that when I come across a Little Free Library, I can donate some books and perhaps find something new to bring home. I’m quite excited about this but not sure how likely I’m going to come across them without purposing driving out to look for them.

Leave a Reply

