Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Finding Audrey
Sophie Kinsella
Penguin Random House: Doubleday Canada, 2015
Paperback, 286 pages

Untitled

Synopsis:

Audrey wears dark glasses all the time, even in the house. She almost never goes out, doesn’t talk to new people, and finds making eye contact to be nearly impossible.

But then one day she meets Linus. Linus is her brother’s friend and a sensitive spirit with whom she can talk through her fears. He makes her laugh and doesn’t leave her feeling as if she’s being judged. As their friendship deepens, Audrey’s recovery gains momentum, and she and Linus begin to develop feelings for each other. But how can they have a future together when Audrey hasn’t dealt with her past? And how could anyone ever love her once they’ve seen her at her worst?

Untitled

Review:

To begin, I just want to say that I’m such a fan of Sophie Kinsella – I loved the Confessions of a Shopaholic series though I never continued after the fourth book in the series. With that in mind, I wanted to give her book Finding Audrey a chance.

Things I liked about the book:

  • The style of the writing and the parts where we get the film transcript of Audrey’s documentary were really fun to read. I like the way Sophie Kinsella narrates.
  • We need more books that talk about different mental health issues in order to build awareness and understanding.
  • Mom and Frank’s relationship were so fun to see play out over Frank’s video game obsession. It seemed to be so realistic even though Mom did seem a little over the top at times.

Things that I didn’t like:

  • Linus. There were so many things that he does that really turned me off. And honestly, if you don’t like the romantic interest of the protagonist, it’s hard to enjoy the rest of the book. [SPOILER ALERT] I was not a fan of the way he reacted when they went to Starbucks the first time – how he got angry at her for “freaking out” even though it’s her first time exposing herself in such a public place for the first time in months and how she should “just tell (herself) to snap out of it.” He just seemed like such an insensitive person.
  • I understand that Linus could have been a factor of Audrey’s momentum to recovery but it all seemed to go too fast. But I’m not an expert on social anxiety disorders so maybe individuals do experience it in this way. For me, I felt like events were rushed and Audrey was pushed to recover in order to move the story line ahead.

Untitled

So, I thought that it was an enjoyable read – for the most part. But I really didn’t like Linus and the way in which the plot was rushed. So this was a hit or miss for me. Depends on how I feel at the moment.

“I think what I’ve realized is, life is all about climbing up, slipping down, and picking yourself up again. And it doesn’t matter if you slip down. As long as you’re kind of heading more or less upwards. That’s all you can hope for. More or less upwards.”
― Sophie Kinsella, Finding Audrey

Have you read Finding Audrey? Let me know what you think below.

Leave a Reply

