Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
J.K. Rowling
Arthur A. Levine Books, Scholastic Inc., 2016
Hardcover: 327 pages

Untitled

Synopsis:

Nineteen years after the Battle of Hogwarts…

It was always difficult being Harry Potter, and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and a father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: Sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is a new play by Jack Thorne. It is the eighth Harry Potter story and the first to be officially presented on stage. This special rehearsal edition of the script brings the continued journey of Harry Potter and his friends and family to readers everywhere immediately following the play’s world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

The stage production of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is produced by Sonia Friedman Productions, Colin Callender, and Harry Potter Theatrical Productions.

Untitled

Review:

I have missed Harry, Hermione, and Ron. Even though this story revolves more around Albus and Scorpius, I was still very excited to be able to read about all those familiar characters. Was the eighth story what I thought it would be? Well, I tried my best to actually go into it not expecting too much. And the fact that it is a script to the play needs to be taken into consideration. On that front, I almost wish that the story was a complete narrative like the rest of the series.

In terms of the plot and character development, I did enjoy it. Personally, I always thought that the introduction of the time turners in Harry potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban presented so many problems. The idea that these wizards had the ability to time travel is very nerve wracking and I’m surprised that more things didn’t change in history. Like, you would think that Voldemort would have gotten his hands on one and avoided the whole mess with Harry Potter. But of course, the moral and lesson we learned back then – and again here in the eighth story – is that time should not be taken lightly. And the slightest change can cause a ripple effect. I liked the way that this story plays into this – but like I said, I think that it could have been really interesting as a narrative. In that format, we would be able to see more of that character development as well.

Untitled

I wish I could go to London and watch the production of this play on stage. It must be so exciting to be a part of that. Almost makes me wish that I had postponed last summer’s Europe trip till this year. But it is what it is – and perhaps one day the production will makes its way to Toronto and I’ll be able to see it then.

Did I enjoy this? Yes. Am I slightly biased? Of course. I’ll always be a fan of Harry Potter and the magical world that J.K. Rowling created for us. Anyone else completely stoked and excited for Fantastical Beasts and Where to Find Them coming out later this year?

Untitled

Leave a Reply

