the book club

2016 The Book Club Selection

I’ve always wanted to be in a book club and last summer, I decided to create one with my friends. Taking into consideration that they don’t read as much or as quickly as I do – and also that they all seem to have busy schedules – we decided to tackle one book every other month. In order to make it fair, we each had to choose a few books which the other members voted on. That book would then be the book we hosted. There are pros and cons to this system. Pros: everyone will have at least one book that they wanted to read. Cons: for me, I’ve already read two of the five selected books. I’m quite flexible and don’t mind rereading good books though so I went along with it.

These are the books chosen for this year.

January – March: Room by Emma Donoghue

April – May: Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari

June – July: Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling

August – September: The Man Who Loved China by Simon Winchester

October – November: Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

Untitled

From now on – starting with Why Not Me? – I’ll be including my own review and also interesting/funny/insightful ideas that come out of the book club discussion after the meeting.

Are you in a book club? What books have you read with your book club? If you have any good book club questions or suggestions for next year’s selection, let me know in the comments as well.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

