Book Review: All the Little Lights by Jamie McGuire

All the Little Lights by Jamie McGuire Montlake Romance, 2018 ARC, 440 pages Synopsis: From #1 New York Times bestselling author Jamie McGuire comes a riveting tale of first love that starts young but runs deep. The first time Elliott Youngblood spots Catherine Calhoun, he's just a boy with a camera, and he's never seen a sadder … Continue reading Book Review: All the Little Lights by Jamie McGuire

Advertisements

Book Review: Dreadful Young Ladies and Other Stories by Kelly Barnhill

Dreadful Young Ladies and Other Stories by Kelly Barnhill Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 2018 Hardcover, 283 pages Synopsis: When Mrs. Sorensen's husband dies, she rekindles a long-dormant love with an unsuitable mate in "Mrs. Sorenson and the Sasquatch." In "Open the Door and the Light Pours Through," a young man wrestles with grief and his … Continue reading Book Review: Dreadful Young Ladies and Other Stories by Kelly Barnhill

Book Review: All the Ever Afters by Danielle Teller

All the Ever Afters by Danielle Teller William Morrow Books, 2018 ARC, 384 pages Synopsis: In the vein of Wicked; The Woodcutter; and Boy, Snow, Bird; a luminous reimagining of a classic tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, Cinderella's "evil" stepmother. We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we? As rumors about the cruel upbringing … Continue reading Book Review: All the Ever Afters by Danielle Teller

Book Review: The Breadwinner by Deborah Ellis

The Breadwinner by Deborah Ellis Groundwood Books, 2000 Hardcover, 166 pages Synopsis: Afghanistan, a country that lies south of Russia between Iran and Pakistan, has been fought over for centuries. Today the country is in the hands of the Taliban, whose extreme religious views include forbidding women to appear in public without being covered from head … Continue reading Book Review: The Breadwinner by Deborah Ellis

Book Review: Harriet Gets Carried Away by Jessie Sima

Harriet Gets Carried Away by Jessie Sima Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2018 Hardcover Synopsis: Harriet loves costumes. She wears them to the dentist, to the supermarket, and most certainly to dress-up parties. But when Harriet wears her penguin costume to the store to find the perfect party hats, she gets a little... carried … Continue reading Book Review: Harriet Gets Carried Away by Jessie Sima